Carpe Diem Baby

Part of the problem we have as people is our complacency. We won’t often challenge or push ourselves. Our comfort zones just seem, well, too damn comfortable.

Everyone is guilty of it every now and again. Everyone. Why push yourself when you can sit on your sofa and watch the world burn around you with 24/7 live coverage sent straight to you?

It’s so easy to rest on your laurels. You did a good job once, no need to do it again. Once was enough, right?

Wrong. Oh so wrong.

Complacency means you’ve accepted the state you’re in, good or bad. That there’s no need to change. Just imagine if everyone did that.

Nothing would change at all. Nothing would improve. There would be no new series of that show you like. There would be no new films starting that actor or actress you like. There would be no new songs. No medical breakthroughs. No new ideas or revelations.

We really need to learn to push ourselves that little bit more. I’ve lost so many possible experiences by not doing certain things, things I would have enjoyed doing, because I’ve allowed my anxiety to control me. 

A few years ago work offered me the chance to go to the Philippines for two months to work over there. I was reticent to go, being away from friends and family for two months is a long time. But I needed the challenge and, after taking to some people, I decided to go. And it was one of the best experiences I’ve ever had. I got to meet some wonderful people and experience somewhere I probably never would have gone to otherwise. I also got to learn some things about myself too, positive things that I’ve been able to embrace. It was a great adventure, I was constantly out if my comfort zone but I really loved it. 

We need to experience these things. We need to have these moments. If we don’t don’t we can never hope to grow as people. Yes, it may trigger moments of anxiety but we can deal with these. It’s okay to fail, we have to learn to accept those moments. They’re part of life. We can’t afford to live our lives trapped in a cage of our own making. We should seize these moments and take what the have to order us. We’ve nothing to lose but experiences. 

Carpe diem baby! 

The title of the this installment of my blog comes from the song Carpe Diem Baby by Metallica. You can find a live version of it on YouTube at Metallica – Carpe Diem Baby (Live)

As usual, if you’d like to talk further please drop me an email at theorderofthedog@gmail.com. Also I’ve created a closed support group on Facebook also called The Order Of The Dog. It’s for people who suffer from mental illnesses as well as people who want to support others and get a better understanding. It’s a closed group so only members can see, post or comment on what’s in there. Head over to The Order Of The Dog to join. Finally, please feel free to share this blog with anyone and anywhere where you think it might help. 

Cheers,
Scott
The Order Of The Dog.

Leave a Reply

