We Be Could Heroes, Just For One Day

Just turn the TV or have a brief look at the internet and you’ll see so much sad and depressing news it’ll have you drowning in your own tears within seconds. 

I’m trying to focus on being positive rather than negative, let’s get some good things out in the world. 

I want to tell you about The Order Of The Dog group and about the members who show such amazing strength and support with each other.  

I set the group up originally not long after I’d written my first blog. I’d received messages from people, some who I knew and some I didn’t, saying that it had helped them, that they were thanking me for sharing my experiences publicly. It made me realise that by me trying to help myself by opening up I was helping others. I created the group more as a companion site to the blog, to engage in conversations and dialogues with people who suffered, with people who wanted to get a better understanding of the illness, with people who wanted to offer out support. The nature of the group quickly changed and it became more of an community of support and information, solely due to the way people interact there. People sometimes say thanks to me for running the group. I reply that they really shouldn’t thank me for it, all I did was set up a Facebook page and let’s face it, any idiot can do that. The group’s success lies solely with the groups members and the way they work and react with each other. Everyone is treated with respect and love. That’s the reason why it works as well as it does, it’s all down to the people who make up it’s membership. 

When you suffer in the throes of depression and anxiety you can become obsessed with how your feelings are the worst in the world, that you’re at the peak of your pain and nobody can reach the dizzy heights of your suffering. Then you hear someone else’s story and you realise yours doesn’t even come close

Oddly enough, in a world rife with one-upmanship, this doesn’t exist in the Order Of The Dog group, I’ve never seen it happen and I don’t think I will. When people share their stories it’s not done for attention or competition, it’s done for enlightenment and eduction. It’s done for release and catharsis. It’s done to ask for help or support. 

It’s refreshing to be part of a community that reach out to each other, that are there to support friends and strangers without question. I’ve seen conversations there that leave you speechless with the horror and pain they’ve been exposed to then you will see the support and sense of solidarity that the community shows and it makes you feel warm inside. 

There are heroes in that group. In fact, every single person in there is a hero to me. To see the strength and dignity some of the members show in the face of adversity is phenomenal. To see the level of support strangers offer each other affirms to you time and time again that there IS good out there, you just sometimes need to open your eyes that little bit wider. 

We’re all heroes in our own little way, we just need to recognise the fact every now and again. 

The title of the this installment of my blog comes from the song Heroes by David Bowie. You can find a video of it on YouTube at David Bowie – Heroes.

I would also like to take a moment to thank my friend Neil Vary for the photo at the top of this blog. It’s a photo he took of Leeds and I use it as the cover for our Order Of The Dog group. You can find more of his fantastic work at Neil Vary Photography.

As usual, if you’d like to talk further please drop me an email at theorderofthedog@gmail.com. Also I’ve created a closed support group on Facebook also called The Order Of The Dog. It’s for people who suffer from mental illnesses as well as people who want to support others and get a better understanding. It’s a closed group so only members can see, post or comment on what’s in there. Head over to The Order Of The Dog to join. Finally, please feel free to share this blog with anyone and anywhere where you think it might help. 

Cheers,
Scott
The Order Of The Dog.

Leave a Reply

