I’m Strong On The Surface Not All The Way Through 

Chester Bennington (1976-2017)

I was heading home when I heard of the passing of Chester Bennington from suicide. 
I’d hoped it was just another cruel hoax, that it was just some sick joke. 

Immediately I went on WhatsApp and reached out to a friend who was a huge fan of Chester’s band Linkin Park who confirmed it.

It’s horrifying to know that he was in such a dark place, that he felt that the only option he had was to take his own life.

When depression takes you, it can swallow you whole. It can engulf any spark inside you, drowning any kind of hope you may have and replace it with this complete void of light and hope. 

Depression is a cancer of your soul. 

Depression is something that we don’t fully understand. It affects people differently. It’s symptoms are different. Nobody is the same as the next. 

I suffer and I know others who do. I’ve been at the point where me not being here anymore seemed like the only option that was open to me anymore and I’m so pleased that it wasn’t. 

Mental health is a curse on modern society. It reaches beyond every possible boundary and won’t discriminate. It doesn’t care who you are or where you’re from. It doesn’t care what your sex is, how much money you have, your social status. If it wants you it’ll try to take you. All you can do is try to fight it as best you can. 

Suicide is many things but it is not selfish. It might be the only escape people think they have. It may be a release. It may be a cry for help out support. 

Chester leaves behind a family. Six children are without their father. Fans of his music are reeling with many unanswered questions, most of which will sadly never be answered. 

Sadly, he won’t be the only person today who had decided to cut short their lives this way. We’ll never know must of these people but somebody will. Somebody will lose someone today because of this tragic curse. 

If your heart and soul are in that dark place, please reach out to someone, anyone. It may feel like the hardest thing you could ever do, but it will certainly be the bravest. Don’t let the feeling of hopelessness overwhelm you. 

You are never truly alone in this life. 

Sleep well Chester. 

The title of the this installment of my blog comes from the song “Leave Out All The Rest” by Linkin Park. You can find a video of it on YouTube here Linkin Park – “Leave Out All The Rest”. I’ve also now created a playlist on Spotify featuring the songs I include in my blog. You can find it over at The Order Of The Dog Spotify Playlist. I’ll update it every time a new blog is published.

As usual, if you’d like to chat to me further you can email me at theorderofthedog@gmail.com and I’ll get back to you as soon as I can. I’ve created a closed support group on Facebook also called The Order Of The Dog. It’s there for people who struggle with mental health issues as well as people who want to support and get a better understanding. It’s a closed group which means only members get to see and interact with what’s posted there. Finally, please feel free to share this blog with anyone and anywhere you think it might help.

Cheers,
Scott
The Order Of The Dog.

Leave a Reply

